Tri Talk HomepageTri Talk EventsTri Talk ForumsBlogsTri Talk TrainingTri TradeTriPlayerWikiTeam Tri Talk
IRONMAN Hamburg 2019 - Rumble in the M45 Jungle
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    TriTalk.co.uk Forum Index -> Events
View previous topic :: View next topic  
valleyboy74

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:27 pm    Post subject: IRONMAN Hamburg 2019 - Rumble in the M45 Jungle Reply with quote

Looking to do my first Ironman next year and due to holiday restrictions as I’m a teacher it’s looking like Ironmn Hamburg. Looks a great city and we plan to make it part of our summer holidays but really concerned about the swim after this years got cancelled. I know it can’t be helped but would not consider it complete if I hadn’t done the full distance. How much was this year a one off or is the Alster prone to high levels of algae?

Does anyone have any thoughts on this or any locals that could offer some insight?

Cheers all
valleyboy74
JeffB

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the ITU race 2 weeks before and the water quality was supposed to be good, it looked a bit manky but I was alright after.

It's hard to say but I don't think they've ever cancelled the ITU swim in there.

There's been problems with a few swims because of the heat this year, Switzerland was non-wetsuit, Bolton nearly got cancelled because of algae. Oddly Tallinn nearly got cancelled today for being too cold.

It was a nice place BTW, and the bike is pan flat, although most of it is single carriageway, nice smooth tarmac, but unless you are near the front it might be hard overtaking or avoiding drafting. A lot of it is single carriageway

Jeff
valleyboy74

PostPosted: Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote